Bake Me a Bread as Fast as You Can

After all my trials and tribulations at making pizza and cake I figured it’s time to go try out the age-old recipe that was passed on to us for generations since biblical times. Baking Bread. As usual, one of the things that had drawn me to try this out is the simplicity of ingredients. This is generally true for me whenever I want to try a recipe, it’s that whenever I see something on the ingredients list that I have NO Idea where to scour, it usually puts me off. Bread, it can’t get anymore basic than that. Well, except probably boiling rice.

This idea did not just pop out of now where though. It is true that this is still fueled by my insatiable urge to just cook whatever I can think of. But bread baking was mostly inspired by Jamie Oliver. Well not because I saw him baking bread. I’m warning you now, this is gonna be long and boring, you can just skip to the bread recipe here. Back to my story, I saw an episode of Jamie’s Dream School wherein he was teaching the kids to make homemade chicken nuggets. His class said that one of the things that makes chicken nuggets a staple in their household is because it’s super easy to make. Take it out of the fridge, and fry. Dinner. Done. So Jamie goes like, when you buy chicken nuggets, what do you expect to eat? Class: Chicken! Then he asked one of the kids to read off the label of the ingredients. They were all surprised to find out there were like a million different things written there that even the kid couldn’t pronounce!! It was so funny, so Jamie chucked the nuggets to the rubbish and proceeded to teach his class how to make a simple chicken nuggets recipe. — Now how was I inspired to bake bread from that? Well it’s the same for industrialized bread. You read a million different things from the label that is not FLOUR, nor SALT nor YEAST nor SUGAR, which are basically the only things you need to make a decent batch

bread

I love bread among other carb enriched food that God gave to mankind. So I went to my kitchen and checked the ingredients of the bread I just bought, as slightly expected, there were so many things written on that label that I didn’t even know existed in the mortal plane. At the end of the day, I just want my hit of carbs, so I searched the web once again to find a nice bread recipe. It didn’t take long cause it’s pretty generic.

If you want to try bread on your own, here’s the super simple basic recipe:

Stuff you need: Bread Flour, Yeast, Water, Olive Oil, Salt, Sugar

Method: If you’re using Active dry yeast, activate the bacteria by placing a tsp of it on luke warm water. If you’re using instant yeast, then let’s go and start!

  1. Mix your flour, pinch of salt, pinch of sugar, yeast and add water. Mix in the water little by little while kneading.
  2. When your dough’s smooth mix a couple of tables spoons of oil. Knead until smooth.
  3. Let your dough rise for about 2 hours. Or cheat rise by putting your dough in your oven and put a bowl of hot water under your bowl with dough. You can do this for 30 minutes. Quick huh!
  4. After 2 hours (or 30mins), punch the dough down.
  5. Put it in a container wherever you’re gonna bake it on. I use a loaf molder. And let it rise for another hour. (or you can do the cheat).
  6. After the final rising, bake! At 180 for 20 mins.

And there you have it! Super easy! And none of that weird preservatives you get from off the shelf bread. Still, I cant do this everyday! See, this is why I like rice better.

Here’s another one with matcha powder.

matchabread

Leave a Reply

